Home

It feels good

This afternoon I’m perched in my childhood bed, typing away

as my soon-to-be-four-month-old snoozes innocently across the room.

Today has been a special one in the way that only the

most mundane of days can be.

A lazy jetlagged start. The lolling that comes with an infant and any

non-urgent morning plans to get out the door get pushed back and back and

back until you’re tying your laces and it’s 1pm.

“It’s raining, no rush.”

My people. NYE circa 2000.

No rush. Mmm. After a week of racing, oh gosh it feels good to breathe.

We walked to the village. Past the supermarket and my childhood primary

school, across the bridge over the dual carriageway, down the hill.

A route I’ve taken hundreds if not thousands of times.

Seeing it all again for the first time, through the eyes of Matt

and baby by my side. Fresh air. Verdant.

The traffic is the primary difference to before, the structures are all the same.

Even the lollipop lady holding the oncoming vehicles in front of the school.

“There’s so many people walking! It’s midday on a Thursday.” Matt proclaimed.

Some things are different across the pond.

Arriving in the village, we swung a right by the pub across the pedestrian lights.

A quick stop in to the tailors to check on the fitting of Matt’s tux for the

wedding this weekend. “I’ll have the hems lowered by this afternoon, perfect.”

Back across the street, passing the Italian embassy and the third church

on the stroll. Into Coffee Works. “I’ll have a cortado.” “Matcha for me please.”

“Oh look at the baby isn’t he gorgeous”. All bundled up in what can only be

described as the cutest eskimo suit from his aunt. “He’s not used to the cold -

he was born in Arizona in 45 degrees.” “No way?! Was that just by chance?!”

“No, we live there.” “In America?! Wow, are ye from there?!”

“Yes and no, I’m actually from Lucan.” “No way?! That’s amazing.”

The Irish small talk in full force, but genuine joy radiating from the barista.

We continued down the main street.

My best pal.

Another two churches, one Methodist, one Protestant. Past the cycling shop,

my dentist. Oh look, the barber, we stop in for Matt to get a quick trim. The

chat between him and the barber has me cackling in my seat as she asks the

most regular of questions and they both nod and natter away, like aliens

speaking different languages with a common goal. I’m impressed they

understand each other so well.

Into the bakery to pick up some goodies for lunch. Past the butcher, the wine

shop, the local grocer with seasonal fresh produce. The sun appears!

Across the street to show the boys the weir of the River Liffey glistening.

Pure magic. We make our way back through the village and spot a heron.

Back up the hill the way we came and run into an old classmate as we turn

home.

Can you tell we were happy kids?

Home. It feels funny. Less than a week ago we packed up our lives in two days

and drove across ten states in a U-haul. Leaving Arizona was not an emotional

one for us. We unloaded on Sunday morning in less than twenty minutes with

all hands on deck in Indianapolis. Base camp until we find our new spot in the

new year. Sunday spent with family felt like one great big hug.

Have you ever felt your nervous system relax in real time?

I am so excited for the new year. I am quite literally squealing with fervent

anticipation for my new role. To be back in New York, to be jet setting across

the states. To be breathing life into projects and executing like only I can.

But this month? This month I will willingly lose my laptop in the house only

to find it hidden under blankets hours later. I will allow my email notifications to

go unopened for more than an hour, possibly even a day. I will eat to my heart’s

content all the goodies I’ve craved for the past two years. And I will rejoice

every time someone I love holds Aro for the first time and whispers to me how

much they love Matt and how great it is to have me home.

Home. Gosh, I grappled with that word my entire life.

I think I finally made it.

Why is Aro identical and I mean identical to baby Danielle?!

What I’m Enjoying

Family, friends, all the food and bundling up to walk outside in the freshest of air. Taking this time offline-ish very seriously, bliss. I’ll be back with the good stuff next week. For now, I’ll be lapping up every minute with them.

Danielle and I in Anthony’s favourite shorts.